15 great books on social media (out of 100 found via Twitter)

I’m back from a short holiday at my parents. We walked hills, swam lakes, drank coffee, chatted. Just wonderful. Besides, I read Seth Godin’s „Tribes – We need you to lead us“ and also a good chunk of „Wikinomics“ by Don Tapscott and Anthony D. Williams.

Easy to guess, both books are in favor of the opportunities Web 2.0 offers us nowadays (low costs of communication, open source, global reach etc.). While Godin takes these as a natural and much more concentrates on leadership and empowering people („tribes“) to follow you – now that one has these opportunities at hand, there’s in fact an obligation to go for your dreams, he says.

Both books are bold, extremely positive („American“) and thus… great. Both remind me that I should push my project the ambassador and implement their findings in our company (rather: network) nest. In the midst of this relaxed environment and inspiration I stumbled upon a tweet about the „100 best books on social media“, so of course I had a glance. From there I picked my 15 favourites with a firm will to really read them in the next couple of months consume a good part of these somewhen. More important: Getting to action after reading ;-)

Here they are (links lead to blog/website of author/s):

Twitter Power, Joel Comm
Groundswell, Charlene Li + Josh Bernoff
The New Rules of Marketing and PR, David Meerman Scott
The Whuffie Factor, Tara Hunt
ProBlogger, Darren Rowse + Chris Garrett
Social Media Marketing, David Evans
Free, Chris Anderson
Smart Mobs, Howard Rheingold
Naked Conversations, Robert Scoble + Shel Israel
The Wisdom of Crowds, James Surowiecki
Linked, Albert-László Barabási
Putting the Public Back in Public Relations, Brian Solis
Buzzmarketing, Mark Hughes
Blogging Heroes, Michael A. Banks (links to free e-book!)
The New Age of Innovation, Prahalad + Krishnan

Seth Godin asks a favor at the end of his book: „Give this copy to someone else“. So I’ll ship the book to whoever comments this article first! Meanwhile, if you own one of the books above, I’d be glad you could lend, donate or sell it to me, just as you wish.

Buzzmarketing

2 Gedanken zu „15 great books on social media (out of 100 found via Twitter)

  1. Luka

    You seem to be a fast reader :-)
    Actually the „tribes“ book makes me curious since I am a bit suspicious about the use of this particular word. I have experienced it being used as a surrogate for „nation“ and this is absolutely something I wouldn’t want to push further.
    Let’s have a read, thus!

    Cheers,
    Luka

    Antwort
    1. dkomm Autor

      Well, it’s not such a big book and an easy read ;-) I think one shouldn’t think of the direct German translation „Stamm“ which has a rather prehistoric connotation to me. Definitely it has nothing to do with „nation“, rather people connecting for a cause, crossing borders…

      Antwort

Schreibe einen Kommentar

